UCCA Beijing

Perfect Moments with the Cello

14:00 - 16:00

Performing Arts
Location:  UCCA Auditorium

About this Program

UCCA is pleased to present the performance “Perfect Moments with the Cello” from cellist Feng Yao and pianist Xu Man. The night will include a diverse program of classical music, from Beethoven to Rachmaninoff to Piazzolla. “Perfect Moments with the Cello” will also mark the China debut of several of the pieces in the program. Young cellist Feng Yao translates his years of experience working and living in Germany into masterful interpretations of classic compositions.

First half

1. “Seven Variations on ‘Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühle’” — Ludwig van Beethoven

2. “The Swan” — Camille Saint-Saëns

3. “Nocturne” — Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

4. “Morgen!” — Richard Strauss

5. “Introduction and Polonaise Brillante Op. 3” — Frédéric Chopin

10 minute intermission

Second half

1. “Cello Sonata in G Minor, Op. 19: III. Andante” — Sergei Rachmaninoff

2. “Vocalise” — Sergei Rachmaninoff

3. “Le Grand Tango” — Astor Piazzolla

4. “When I Met You” (traditional Russian song)


Feng Yao (Cellist)

Xu Man (Pianist)